1984 NL Champs “Sounds of Success” Record (1984)

KFMB Sounds of Success Record (Front)KFMB Sounds of Success Record (Back)

Side One
Talkin’ Baseball by Terry Cashman
Thunderin’ Lumber by Steve Vaus
Doin’ The Goose by Glenn Erath-Hudson & Bauer Singers
The Garv by KFMB’s Hudson & Bauer
Talkin’ Number One by Steve Vaus
Padres Win Again by Eric Show

Side Two
Hey Pads by Glenn Erath-Hudson & Bauer Singers with Steve Horn
The Garv by KFMB’s Hudson & Bauer
Steve Garvey National Anthem by Steve Vaus
Tiger Safari by Glenn Erath & Steve Horn
The Committee by Steve Vaus
We Are Still The Champions by Glenn Erath & Karen McDermott
Dreams Can Come True…Ode to Ray by Mutimer & Friends

Here is a record that was released after the 1984 season by KFMB. All net proceeds of the sales went to the American Diabetes Association. As opposed to the other Padres ’84 NL Champs record this one was full of songs. This is still sealed like the other one but I’m gonna crack them open and take a listen soon.

6 responses to “1984 NL Champs “Sounds of Success” Record (1984)

  1. I have this vinyl as well– mine is unsealed and I’ve sent it off to a company to have a CD made of the record. I saw your link about the “other record” which I remember listening to, the audio is a bunch of game clips and a ton of re-creations by Jerry and Dave. At one time there was also someone who had collections on tape of the Hudson & Bauer show clips (a few are featured on the Sounds of Success) that really brought back memories. I’ve looked for that recording/tape for a long time, but I haven’t located it. In other words, there is another album out there.

    • Mr. Rene Eustace

      10/9/11: Alan: Did you ever get the cd made off from the record? Would like to get a copy of the cd from you if so? Let me know, please. Thanks!
      Mr. Rene Eustace

  2. I would love to get a copy of that from you. I’m actually trying to contact a few people to get some of the other songs from the 90’s era. Let’s keep in touch.

  3. I have owned a cassette of this album since I was a little kid. I would listen to it non-stop, even though I was born in the 80s and wasn’t around to see the ’84 team. I used to listen to “The Garv” parts over and over and over again; 10 year old me would have called this record the greatest comedy album of all time and called ‘Tiger Safari’ the #1 song of the ’80s. If this gets made into digital form, I would love you to post the tracks on this blog for us to download. I’m so scared for that old cassette’s health.

  4. I have this record as well. I recently converted it to MP3 to play in the car. I worked for the Padres as a member of the Groundcrew and this album brings back very good memories of the 84 championship team. It was a fun year!

  5. Mr. Rene Eustace

    Alan Reed. Did you ever get the cd of that album made off? Any chance of getting a copy burned?

Leave a Reply

