Catch up…..again

First up is a poster of the famous Sports Illustrated cover picture. I’m not sure when this is from exactly but it has compliments of  Home Federal Savings in the lower right hand corner. Christopher Paluso was the artist and upon doing a Google search I find out that he did a bunch of those amazing Legends Sports Memorabilia magazine covers that I still have from when I was a kid. The guy does absolutely amazing work, lives in San Diego and has actually even done some of the plaques in the San Diego Hall of Champions.

This 1977 Hostess card (#26) isn’t exactly in the best of shape. But when cards were packaged with Twinkies, Ding Dongs & HoHos, cards in pristine shape were pretty hard to come by.

In 1988 Grenada released a set of baseball stamps. Once again my stupid scanner cut it off and I really don’t have the patience to scan things twice. The only other Padres that I can see in the set were Tony Gwynn and Benito Santiago…but 3 Padres in a set of 81 superstars and Hall of Famers ain’t half bad really.

In 1999 Fleer gave Sports Illustrated a set that was titled Greats of the Game. RJ scored 3 cards in this set with this one (#35) being the base card. I’m still working on acquiring the other 2 cards though.

When I posted the “Leather” version of this card (which made sense), I brought up the fact of how weird it was for a pitcher to get a “Lumber” card. Oh well, here it is the 2005 Leather & Lumber “Lumber” card (#LC-34)….for a pitcher.

Since I’m posting the other half of the Leather & Lumber cards I might as well post the other half of the RC Cola cans. This one is from the first series in 1977 and unlike the 1978 version, does not have a number.

2 responses to “Catch up…..again

  1. This is the artist Christopher Paluso and the print of Randy was for a promotion by Home Savings and I worked from the cover of SI for reference. As for the Hall of Champions hall of fame, I have done all of the now 133 plaques and began in 1983 doing the first 56 hall of fame members into the new format. Thanks for the recognition.

Leave a Reply

