S.A.M. Gaylord Perry Bobblehead (1996)

GaylordPerryBobbleFront
GaylordPerryBobbleBack

Well Portland & Seattle were great but I’m back to the scorching heat of San Diego and I’m glad. I was hoping to post more stuff while I was on vacation but had very little internet access so I had to wait until I got back. Over on my other site SDPads_1 I will be posting pictures and stuff from both the recent minor league All-Star games I attended. Anyways back to the good stuff. This item is a S.A.M. (Sports, Accessories & Memorabilia) Gaylord Perry bobble head. To my knowledge it is the only one featuring him in a Padres uniform & is 1 of only 4 Padres bobble heads that S.A.M. made (the others being a pinstriped Gwynn, a solid blue Gwynn & a standard Padre player which looked exactly like the Gwynn one except it didn’t have his name on it). Obviously his stay with the Padres wasn’t that long but the 2 seasons he was here he made his mark. In his first season in San Diego he sported a nifty 21-6 record, a 2.73 ERA & struck out 154 batters on his way to winning the NL Cy Young Award in 1978. In 1979 at the age of 40 he still went on to post a solid 3.06 ERA while making the NL All-Star team but only went 12-11 for a Padres team that finished 68-93. This item is #985 out of 3,000 made with a COA and the original box.

Leave a Reply

